Mission

Alcion Ventures is a real estate private equity firm that executes a thesis-driven, opportunistic investment strategy in select North American markets. The firm is committed to being a disciplined fiduciary and investor that combines the entrepreneurial approach of an operator with the established practices of an institutional private equity fund manager.

Experience

Alcion Ventures, LP is based in Boston, Massachusetts and was founded in January 2005 by Martin Zieff and Mark Potter. Together, with three additional partners David Ferrero, Eugene DelFavero and Kristopher Galletta, they have over 115 years of real estate investing and fund management experience.

Alcion's five partners are seasoned real estate professionals, many of whom have worked together for up to 20 years. The partners are cycle tested and have an extensive network of industry relationships that facilitates both the sourcing and the management of investment opportunities.

Over the course of three decades, the partners have developed, refined, and implemented processes to source, underwrite, conduct rigorous due diligence on, manage, and exit investments, at the asset level, while employing stringent controls, risk management and compliance practices, at the fund level.

The partners are intimately involved in all aspects of investment management. Each investment is overseen, from acquisition through disposition, by at least one partner, in addition to members of the investment and finance teams who operate in an integrated fashion. Alcion has a deep and broad bench of talent for a middle-market sized firm with 19 professionals and 5 partners, together averaging over 10 years of experience.

Funds

Alcion Real Estate Fund I was formed in 2005/2006 with nearly $350 million of equity commitments from a select group of endowments and institutional investors.

Alcion Real Estate Fund II was formed in 2010 with nearly $500 million of equity commitments from a diversified investor base including major pension funds, endowments, foundations, family offices, and high-net worth individuals from the United States, Canada, and Europe.

Strategy

Fiduciary

  • Committed to transparency, alignment, and client service
  • Adhere to a disciplined investment philosophy and process

Strategic

  • Develop theses based on top-down and bottom-up research
  • Capitalize on cycles and market inefficiencies

Value Creation

  • Invest in assets with strong fundamentals and attractive margins
  • Identify and mitigate risk, including use of modest leverage

Tactical

  • Actively manufacture and pursue off-market opportunities
  • Execute discernible business plan with clear view to exit

Partners


Martin Zieff, Founding & Managing Partner
mzieff@alcionventures.com

Eugene DelFavero, Partner, CFO
gdelfavero@alcionventures.com

Kristopher Galletta, Partner
kgalletta@alcionventures.com


Mark Potter, Founding Partner
mpotter@alcionventures.com

David Ferrero, Partner
dferrero@alcionventures.com

Directors


Kristen Cocuzzo, Director, Treasury
kcocuzzo@alcionventures.com

Sally Edelblute, Director, Tax
sedelblute@alcionventures.com

Benjamin May, Director, Investments
bmay@alcionventures.com



Caroline Panagiotopoulos, Director, Finance
cpanagiotopoulos@alcionventures.com

Jay Regan, Director, CCO
jregan@alcionventures.com

Senior Associates


Brian Collins, Senior Associate, Controller
bcollins@alcionventures.com

Matthew DePucchio, Senior Associate, Investments
mdepucchio@alcionventures.com

Katherine Kilbride, Senior Associate, Controller
kkilbride@alcionventures.com

Associates


Joan Allard, Associate, Finance and Human Resources
jallard@alcionventures.com

Amanda Barthelmes, Associate, Finance
abarthelmes@alcionventures.com

Kyle Cubin, Associate, Finance
kcubin@alcionventures.com

Domenic DelFavero, Associate, Investments
ddelfavero@alcionventures.com


Leah Sabo, Associate, Operations
lsabo@alcionventures.com

Ian Snow, Associate, Investments
isnow@alcionventures.com

Rachel Saeby, Associate Investor Relations
rsaeby@alcionventures.com

Amanda LaCroix, Associate, Receptionist
alacroix@alcionventures.com

Markets

Alcion Ventures focuses on seven major North American markets and predominantly invests in primary assets types. Alcion believes these markets and assets types possess attractive characteristics, including transparency to support informed decision making, multiple demand drivers, constraints on new supply, and inherent inefficiencies due to their scale. Additionally, Alcion's partners have extensive cycle-tested experience and longstanding relationships in these markets.

San Francisco
Chicago
Boston
New York
Washingtion, D.C.
Toronto
Los Angeles
Miami and Naples
San Diego

Contact

To learn more about Alcion Ventures or speak to a
representative, please contact:

Alcion Ventures
One Post Office Square, Suite 3150
Boston, MA 02109

Main: 617-603-1000
Fax: 617-603-1001

info@alcionventures.com

Boston
Chicago
Los Angeles
New York
San Francisco
Toronto
Washington, D.C
Other
Miami and Naples, Florida
San Diego, California
Various Resort Markets
(not shown on map)